What they keep saying about the Miracle Fly – A True Testimonial


Dave touches on the fly that is exactly what it’s called, “the Miracle fly”.

December 8, 2011
Hello Jeremy.

I would like to share last weeks success story and thank you for introducing me to fly tying a few years ago. I especially want to say thanks for teaching me to tie the “Hunts Miracle Fly“ egg pattern. You have taught me many patterns but the “Miracle Fly” is the heart of this story.

There are a lot of egg patterns out there that I have tied and tried a lot of them.
All of the patterns will elicited hits and catch fish however, the “Miracle Fly” and the hooks you now use and that I now tie with in the “Miracle Fly” pattern seems to have increase my hook up rate. I would like to say I am getting better as a fisherman and maybe that has a little to do with it, but having a hook that will hold in the fish and not bend or break is not due to my improving. It’s nice to know that at least one part of your rig isn’t going to “ give up”. I feel the shape of this hook is also a bit different, accounting for the improved hook up rate.

I hope this is not sounding like a TV infomercial. That’s not my intent.

Any Way:

We all have heard of “big fish flies” and most have tried a few. The problem I have experienced with these flies is that they don’t catch very many smaller fish; you know those between twelve and seventeen inches. Little bass will hit a lure larger than themselves, in my limited experience, not trout.

Most fishermen soon become bored (self included) when we are not catching fish. Like most who are somewhat new to the sport. I like to catch lots of fish and hope to luck into a big one now and then. There are the “Tim’s” that can fish all day for one big fish, not me.

Unfortunately, big fish don’t just happen unless you are a twelve year old fishing with a french fry. You just don’t happen into big fish on a regular basis. It takes a combination of a lot of things. One of the things that I like about an egg pattern is that, when tied and fished right, it performs as a “big fish” pattern that will also catch a lot of smaller fish making for a great day on the water.

Bragging but not bragging (“If you done it, it ain’t bragging.”) In my last five fishing days at Roaring River State Park I have hooked and landed about ninety or so fish with four fish over twenty-three inches. Good fish by any standard. I have enclosed a photo of the largest of the group’ It was just over twenty-seven inches. Not all of the ninety fish were hooked on the Miracle pattern but all of the bigger ones including several in the fifteen to seventeen range involved this fly as either the primary or attractor fly on my rig. That should say something. It does for me.

By the way, all the fish caught were released to be enjoyed on another day.

It was good seeing you on the stream the other day and taking part in your fly tying classes Saturday. I always learn something new that I can use. Your work and creativity is appreciated.

Weather permitting I will see you on December 17.

Thanks again

Dave

Also, if you haven’t checked out the video we put together fishing this fly click here to watch it!!

~ by troutdoctor101 on December 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
