Streamer Patterns for 2010


What streamers are the pros using?

A month ago I had the chance to go through the latest offering of Kelly Galloup streamer patterns with a fellow streamer fanatic

 I wear my passion for streamer fishing on my sleeve, so when I had the chance to take Lee Johnston out for a few days of chucking streamers a month ago, we used the opportunity to compare our arsenals. As it turns out, Lee, like myself, is a big fan of Kelly Galloup’s streamers, and between the two of us, we must have had every new offering Kelly has devised over the last year. His innovations always serve a specific purpose, and Kelly prides himself on creating new flies that catch more fish than their previous counterparts – his art is always evolving.

I thought I would post some pictures** because a lot of these flies cannot be found in fly shops or online. Let me know if you are interested in more information, and with the recent rains we’ve had in the Ozarks, it looks like conditions will be prime for targeting huge fish with big streamers over the next month.

Although I wish I could say that Lee had a banner-day throwing all these gorgeous flies, but conditions on the Little Red were as tough as nails. At least, we enjoyed a very productive day exchanging information and experimenting – I learn the most when I’m not always getting distracted by catching fish, so in this case, a slow bite worked in our favor.

**A couple of these flies are from Orvis, but most are Kelly Galloup’s streamers.

~ by troutdoctor101 on May 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
