Mikey Wier and Brent Dawson: Tearing ’em up


Check out these incredible photos sent to me by Brent Dawson and Mikey Wier – I also got a really cool care package from him…more on that in a second. Brent and his fishing counterpart Mikey Wier went to Mongolia recently in search of giant tiamen. These are huge fish in the trout family that grow to lengths exceeding 50-inches, and they will take a fly. During their trip, they also caught smaller lenok , the fish that looks similar to a brown in the pics– but the primary objective was to land the really big tiamen. After trying a bunch of different patterns with limited success, it ended up being Brent’s unique streamer patterns that saved the day. This up and coming star in the fly fishing world is gaining growing recognition for his innovative fishing and tying techniques. Mickey is also becoming a well-known figure in the sport, and he is quite accomplished in his own right.

Here is some GREAT footage from their trip.

Wild Mongolia “The River Time Forgot” from Mikey Wier on Vimeo.

The River Time Forgot-Mongolia from Mikey Wier on Vimeo.

Mikey and Brent will be visiting me for a fly fishing marathon this upcoming June. We are hoping to experiment with Brent’s tiamen flies in search of huge trout on the White River and Norfork Tailwater. I just received a box from Brent today, and I am very impressed with the design elements he has incorporated. The hooks he uses are actually made for bass – finding a worthy hook can make a big difference in the number of big fish that actually get landed. These flies are heavier than anything I have ever held. You could cast one 150 feet with a spinning rod! Brent knows what he is doing when it comes to targeting big fish, and I cannot wait until I get the chance to spend time learning from a couple of guys that I really like and respect.

I will keep everyone updated regarding the status of Brent and Mikey’s Ozark trip, and I will also pass along some of the tricks that I am going to pick up along the way with respect to going after trophy fish with BIG flies during high water periods. If and when these flies become available for sale, I will post the info on my Web site and blog. There is no point in tying these patterns yourself, as Brent uses some very unconventional materials, and the head on these flies is like nothing I have ever seen. Some of you know that I have more tying stuff than some fly shops, and I don’t even have everything needed to tie these patterns.

Please let me know if you are interested in learning more about Brent’s flies or if you have questions about streamer fishing. I am always happy to help.

~ by troutdoctor101 on January 22, 2010.

2 Responses to “Mikey Wier and Brent Dawson: Tearing ’em up”

  1. I’d like to see some more about those flies.

    • We all would, but we really won’t get more details until they come and film with me this year. Then I will know alot more. You can go to his site and check out more of his patterns.

Leave a Reply

 
