Fly Tying – Pine Craw


November 17 2009

Since we’re talking about crawdads lately I’ll go ahead and share what I’ve been doing on the vise. When pine squirrel got big in the tying world everyone was coming up with their own special flies with this stuff. One stuck out over all than the rest, but to be honest I forgot all about it until recently. I won’t take claim to this pattern because I didn’t invent it. The two brothers at Wapsi did when Joe (who does all the dying) was experimenting with it. I think Eric (who is over all dubbings) started to tweak it and then it became the Pine Craw. Very easy pattern and very soft feeling to the fish, which you need both when it comes to smallmouth. What I also like about this pattern, and what makes it what it is to the fisherman (hehe) is gluing another side to make the pinchers look better. You don’t need it, but it sure makes the pattern. If you notice in the picture I use another color to give it some flare. I think Eric came out with this step after the pattern got develop.

~ by troutdoctor101 on December 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
